What Hockey Team Is in Ontario? (NHL, AHL, Juniors)

In 1917, the NHL was officially formed. It featured 7 teams, one of which was from Ontario. 

Fast-forward over 100 years and that same team still plays in the league today. In 1992, another Ontario franchise joined the NHL to give the original Ontario NHL team some local competition.

So, just what are those two teams?

Well, in this article, I’ll show you what NHL teams are in Ontario, what other top hockey teams are in the Canadian province, and where you can watch them. Plus… you’ll even learn about the American Ontario hockey team, based out of California in the States!

Pssssst! Are you curious about hockey teams in other Canadian provinces? You can learn more by checking out our other posts: What Hockey Team Is in British Columbia and What Hockey Team Is in Quebec.

Let’s dive in.

Here’s What Hockey Teams Are In Ontario:

The province of Ontario, Canada is home to two NHL teams: The Toronto Maple Leafs and the Ottawa Senators. The province also has two AHL teams: The Toronto Marlies (an affiliate of the NHL’s Maple Leafs), and the Belleville Senators (an affiliate of the NHL’s Senators). There are also 20 major junior teams in the Ontario Hockey League (OHL).

What Hockey Team Is in Ontario, California?

Curious about the other Ontario? In the city of Ontario, California, there is an American Hockey League (AHL) team called The Ontario Reign.

The AHL team began playing in the 2015-16 season. They’re a professional hockey team that’s affiliated with the NHL’s Los Angeles Kings. They play home games out of the Toyota Arena in Ontario, California.

How Many NHL Teams Are in Ontario?

Ontario, Canada, is one of the few Canadian provinces or U.S. states that has two National Hockey League teams. Ontario is home to the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Ottawa Senators. 

The Maple Leafs were introduced at the same time the NHL was formed—in 1917. Originally called the Toronto Arenas, the club was renamed the Toronto St. Patricks in 1919. In 1927, the hockey club was purchased by Conn Smythe and renamed the Maple Leafs.

Now referred to as the Toronto Maple Leafs (and officially as the Toronto Maple Leaf Hockey Club), they’re also known as simply “The Leafs”. They play at the Scotiabank Arena in downtown Toronto.

The Ottawa Senators are the other NHL team in Ontario, Canada. They were brought into the NHL much more recently – in 1992. Officially called the “Ottawa Senators Hockey Club,” the hockey team is also referred to as “The Sens.” They play at the Canadian Tire Centre in downtown Ottawa—the capital city of Canada.

What Hockey Teams Are in Ontario?

There are two NHL teams in Ontario! Plus, there are several other top-tier hockey teams including a few professional teams and a wide variety of junior teams.


In 1917, the Toronto Maple Leafs were created when the NHL was originally formed. Nearly 80 years later, in 1992, the Ottawa Senators were introduced to the NHL as the second Ontario NHL team. The Toronto Maple Leafs play out of the Scotiabank Arena located at 40 Bay St. The Ottawa Senators play out of the Canadian Tire Centre located at 1000 Palladium Dr.


Ontario also has two other professional ice hockey teams. The province’s two American Hockey League teams are the Toronto Marlies – an affiliated minor league team of the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Belleville Senators – an affiliated minor league team of the Ottawa Senators.

What Teams Are in the Ontario Hockey League?

Ontario has the most robust junior hockey presence in the world. There are a wide variety of leagues, the most prominent of them being the Ontario Hockey League (OHL). The OHL is a major junior hockey league that would be considered similar (though more competitive) to Tier I junior hockey in the United States. 

Here are the 20 OHL teams in Ontario:

  • Barrie Colts
  • Erie Otters
  • Flint Firebirds
  • Guelph Storm
  • Hamilton Bulldogs
  • Kingston Frontenacs
  • Kitchener Rangers
  • London Knights
  • Mississauga Steelheads
  • Niagara IceDogs
  • North Bay Battalion
  • Oshawa Generals
  • Ottawa 67’s
  • Owen Sound Attack
  • Peterborough Petes
  • Saginaw Spirit
  • Sarnia Sting
  • Soo Greyhounds
  • Sudbury Wolves
  • Windsor Spitfires

What Are the Minor Hockey Leagues in Ontario?

Minor hockey in Ontario is established under the governing body called the Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA). The Ontario Minor Hockey Association is officially sanctioned by Hockey Canada and the Ontario Hockey Federation.

Within the OMHA, there are two official “AAA” leagues: The South-Central Triple A Hockey League and the Eastern AAA Hockey League.

There are also four “AA” leagues:

  • Tri-County AA League
  • York-Simcoe AA League
  • Lakeshore League
  • Bluewater League

There are five “A” leagues:

  • Bluewater League
  • Lakeshore League
  • Niagara District League
  • Tri-City A League
  • York-Simcoe A League

Are you curious to know more about hockey in other states across the U.S.? Don’t forget to check out our other popular blog posts: What Hockey Team Is in Florida, What Hockey Team Is in Washington State, and  What Hockey Team Is in Chicago, Illinois.








Recent Posts